Black Dog

I wake, hear you breathing. Waiting. Biding your time. I open my eyes to jet black fur and sharp yellow teeth. Breath fetid from open panting mouth. Drool drips slow, pooling slobber on my pillow.

I push you off but you jump on again. Paws heavy on my chest force the breath from my lungs. Stealing away my will to rise, start the day. I close my eyes wish you’d disappear.

I nestle then in bed and you curl up contented behind me, trapping the duvet into a warm safe cocoon. We’ll try a walk later maybe, dogs like walks.

Leave a Reply

