Brawn

They sat at table quietly. And I moved among them. Serving just as quietly.
Remembering the Calf. Her scared eyes.

Stroking her soft muzzle I’d whispered telling her it’d be OK. There would be an escape. Then the unmistakeable stench of sadness later. As we scalded her head to remove the hairs.

“Another slice.”he said. His hand pressed against my leg with a whispered “I’ll see you later.”

I looked over at my boss. Said she couldn’t do anything unless she’d seen it with her own eyes. And I see as she unmistakeably looked, then swiftly turned her head away.

Leave a Reply

