Quiet Please

I choose an empty table, next to a shelf marked Romance, a man shuffles past me and winks. It’s my first time writing in the library, I’m really hoping the two aren’t linked.

Winking man stares at me from the bottom of the aisle. A lady joins me, sits diagonally across. I’m mesmerized by her long nails tapping repetitively on her phone and only notice winking man again as he eagerly pulls up the seat in front of me.

Eyes wide.

My page seems to get blanker the more I stare but I know I can feel a story forming.

Leave a Reply

