will you wave?

We’re off on a little holiday.

“My coat’s got something on it.” Said Alice.

I check, it’s got half a field encrusted over it and smells of horse wee.

“Cagoule then?”

Alice tries but has grown since she last wore it.

“Mummy it’s hurting me!”

We forget the coats as I cram bags of bedding, toys and kitchen sinks into the tiny boot.
Wave if you see me?
The tired woman on the beach.
With a frozen coatless child who’s eating a bag of Wotsits for breakfast because the supermarket’s shut and the food bag was left in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

