Money Laundering

I’m not keen on change.

I still miss half-pences and the days when five old pennies in a row measured just over six inches. We used to save shillings for the meter.

I got used to new money though.
Until it started shrinking.
Now I keep fiddly five-pences in the jar in the hall.

The latest note is made out of old shower curtains I think, for the sake of the environment. I hate to imagine what’ll happen in the tumble dryer if our Bert leaves one in his back pocket.

Maybe that’s what’s happening to our coins.

Leave a Reply

